frgavin on May 18th, 2011

Dr Alison Peden Dr Alison Peden will become Bishop of Brechin if she is elected

A Scottish Anglican priest will learn later if she has become the first female bishop of a major UK church.

The Rev Canon Dr Alison Peden is on a shortlist of five hoping to be elected Bishop of Brechin in the Scottish Episcopal Church.

Dr Peden stood for election to be a bishop in 2010 but failed in her bid.

The other candidates are the Rev Canon David Bayne, the Rev Canon Dr Alvyn Pettersen, the Venerable Paul Ferguson and the Venerable Dr Nigel Peyton.

An electoral synod of clergy and lay church members will make the decision. They are meeting at St Ninian’s Episcopal Church in Dundee at 1900 GMT.

Dr Peden is currently Rector of Holy Trinity Church, Stirling, and Canon of St Ninian’s Cathedral in Perth.

‘Quality candidates’

She was on a shortlist of three to become Bishop of Glasgow and Galloway in January 2010 but the post was taken by Dr Gregor Duncan.

The Bishop of Brechin Office became vacant in October, following the early retirement of Dr John Mantle, who died a month later.

All the candidates for the post were selected from nomination lists by a preparatory committee, who choose the shortlist. The five were interviewed by the electoral synod prior to the final vote.

The Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church, the Most Rev David Chillingworth, said: “I thank members of the preparatory committee for the work they have done and am delighted that five candidates of high quality are nominated to the Electoral Synod.

“We hope that our discernment in the electoral synod will enable us to elect a new bishop who will lead the Diocese of Brechin in its future ministry and mission.”

The general synod of the Scottish Episcopal Church voted to amend its canons to allow the ordination of women bishops in June 2003 but no females have yet been appointed to the office.

The candidates

Source: Scottish Episcopal Church
The Rev Canon David Bayne (born 1952) Rector of St Ninian’s Church, Castle Douglas; Rural Dean of Galloway and Canon of St Mary’s Cathedral, Glasgow
The Venerable Paul Ferguson (born 1955) Archdeacon of Cleveland, Diocese of York
The Rev Canon Dr Alison Peden (born 1952) Rector of Holy Trinity Church, Stirling; Canon of St Ninian’s Cathedral, Perth and Provincial Director of Ordinands
The Rev Canon Dr Alvyn Pettersen (born 1951) Canon Theologian of Worcester Cathedral
The Venerable Dr Nigel Peyton (born 1951) Archdeacon of Newark, Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.